Contact your local Destination Management Organization (DMO) and let them know that you are a local guide/outfitter and your business would benefit by having this professional development opportunity available. You can even go on to say that this benefit has a trickle down effect because when people come to the area to use your guiding services they increase local spending. They stay over, eat, shop, and enjoy all your area has to offer. DMO’s typically have funding targeted for just this sort of thing.

As you may know,

GORP Guide Training Program was developed to help market guides as professionals and raise the value of guide services to the public. The content provides a broad range of knowledge and skills including identification of 101 local species of plants and animals, knowledge of local history, natural resource agencies, tourism organizations, and economic impact, group management, customer service, sustainability, marketing, personal interpretation skills, and more.

GORP courses present content on four regions: Local, State, National, & Global. We are in the process of expanding the program to four other states and expect to have those ready to launch by summer of 2021, with more to follow.

Currently the local course for GORP presents content on the Oregon Coast, one of Oregon’s seven destination regions.

We are ready and able to expand our program. The only thing that keeps us from expanding the content to include all seven regions in Oregon, is funding. However, one role of your DMO is to collect input on what would help your business thrive; and do what they can to help that happen including providing funding.

You can call or send an email to the DMO’s the serve your region and request that they fund a GORP expansion course.

Oregon Coast
Counties: Clatsop, Tillamook, Lincoln, Coos, Curry; coastal portions of Lane and Douglas
 Greater Portland
Counties: Washington, Columbia; portions of Multnomah and Clackamas
Websites:  and
 Mt. Hood / Columbia River Gorge
Counties: Hood River; portions of Wasco, Multnomah and Clackamas
Willamette Valley
Counties: Yamhill, Polk, Benton, Marion, Linn; portions of Lane and Clackamas
Southern Oregon
Counties: Klamath, Lake, Jackson, Josephine; portions of Douglas
Central Oregon
Counties: Jefferson, Deschutes, Crook; portions of Wasco
Eastern Oregon
Counties: Sherman, Gilliam, Wheeler, Morrow, Union, Umatilla, Wallowa, Grant, Baker, Harney, Malheur

Or you can visit the Travel Oregon website to find a searchable list of DMO’s, CLICK HERE.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email